I finally get the kid thing

 

I had a son a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve been busier and more tired than I ever thought possible, but right this second he’s sleeping peacefully.  I’ve been cried at, pooped and spit up on and I wouldn’t change a bit of it…not for the world.  There any many things I thought I understood about having and raising a child and there are some things that instantly became clear once he joined the world. Here are a few of them.

If you have a birth plan, burn it or throw it out the window.  Your kiddo has a plan too and it’s unlikely the same plan.  I planned to give birth at a birth center with a midwife and ended up in the hospital with severe preeclampsia.  It happens.  In my opinion, the best thing that you can do is educate yourself about all options available and be flexible.  In fact, I am learning that being flexible is an essential part of this parenting thing.

I know that my son is crying.  I hear him while I’m shopping too.  I don’t want him to cry either, but I’m not going to find a bench to feed him and then resume grocery shopping in a half hour. Someday we may be skilled enough to breastfeed in the Moby wrap.  We’re not there yet. I’m just going to get my hustle on so I can remove myself from the scene. No need to glare at me people. I need milk and tater tots and I’m not leaving without them.  Deal with it!

There are lots of rules/suggestions/guidelines with babies and you have to choose your own path. You should remain yourself only now you have a baby. I thought I read enough books and articles and blog posts, but there is always something to learn and everyone has an opinion. Do you know that some people don’t leave the house with babies?  What?! I’d go bonkers! But that’s me. In the first week with my son I was in a wedding and went to the state fair.  See? I’m still me. I go, go, go.  Granted that was a crazy week and we have settled into a pattern now that doesn’t involve that level of precise timing. I’m most likely not going to wrench him out of bed to run errands (notice I didn’t say never).  My sister told me that while she was home with her baby she only planned on doing two things a day.  Recently I took the kiddo to a union protest and now he’s sleeping in his union red onesie. I don’t think I’ll be doing anything else today. Bottom line: everyone has opinions and you have to learn how to parent in your own style. If it doesn’t work for you, then it doesn’t really work, does it?

I’m always late or there is the potential to be late for any appointment, meeting, or gathering.  My husband and I joke that we are always one diaper blow out away from being late. It’s true.  You can’t plan that.

I can’t make plans much or rather I don’t make solid plans. My plans are today I will go to the chiropractor.  The office is open for 6 hours today. I’ll make it at some point before or after I walk the dog or I won’t.

While I love my child I also savor the moments that he’s with someone else.  Sometimes it’s fun to be lost in my not so recently left behind adult world where people are loud with laughter (without apology because they are worried they will wake the kidd0) and don’t ask me baby things.

 

Leave a Reply

