My favorite locker

Does anyone else have a relationship with an inanimate object? Locker 305 at my gym is broken and I am in mourning.  So that might be a bit of an exaggeration. But it has been stuck in the closed position for a few months now and I’ve been reluctantly been using it’s neighbor gray locker 307. I don’t like it because it isn’t the same. Actually, it’s exactly the same, but shifted about 15″ to the right and I am a creature of habit.

Gym-Locker

I have been going to the same gym for over 10 years my locker use is strategic. I like to get in and then quickly out of the gym.  Sometimes the workout is fun, but honestly I have more exciting and better things going on in my life. I use the first bank of lockers when I walk into the locker room to minimize my walking around many naked women and puddles of water that the swimmers leave indiscriminately and inconsiderately on the floor. I use the top row of lockers because in the winter I don’t want anyone else to use it and have their wet boots or shoes drip onto my stuff through the holes in the bottom.  I avoid the full length lockers toward the middle of the locker room because people who go there like to chat… a whole bunch.  There is nothing wrong with chatting, but I don’t budget the time for a locker room convo with a stranger and I’m often in a hurry.

This rambling lead me to wonder what other habits people are have.  Do you park in the same  parking space every day? Go to the same cashier at the local grocer? Or am I the only one willing to admit it?

Leave a Reply

