Quitting sugar?

I have a sweet tooth. My mom claims that I wasn’t always this way.  I was a healthy eater when I was super small, but one summer I went to stay with my Grandparents for a bit.  While there I had access to lemon drops, oatmeal raisin cookies, and Werther’s Orginals. There were suckers at the bank and ice cream from the ice cream man and homemade apple pie or all of the above.  The other snack foods left something to be desired.  One item they tried to serve me regularly was popcorn with no butter or salt. Imagine the look of disappointment on my face. No sugar? I would have rather eaten those lightning bugs I was catching than plain popcorn.

Currently, I am fond of something sweet after nearly every meal.  I am sure that I could eat a breakfast dessert, a lunch dessert, a snack dessert, and you get the idea.  As I’ve been dabbling in the Paleosphere I have tried to vastly cut down on these sweets.  Some days I am successful and many days I am not.  I am pretty sure this is a habit that can be unlearned. After all people do quit smoking and I assume that’s exponentially harder.

I am not publicly declaring that I’m quitting sugar.  It’s entirely possible that you might see me with ice cream or more likely cookies om the future. But here’s what I’m trying to do in my effort to eat less sweets. On a successful day I completely bypass ubersweet processed desserts. I don’t buy them at the grocery store. If I pass them I cannot make eye contact. I’m not joking. I try to snack on fruit and I realize that it’s actually quite sweet in a good way rather than a funky artificial teeth pain sort of way. Dried fruit is especially tasty. The trouble is that it’s hard to stop eating it. Insert sad face. I’ve rid the house of those Christmas cookies (don’t get caught up on the details of how.  They are gone). I will not make so many next year. I promise. I make treats at home so I know what goes inside. I’ve been experimenting a bunch by making recipes from cookbooks I have at home and some that I find online. I made these brownies,  http://paleorecipequeen.blogspot.com.au/search/label/brownies), and baked them at 350.  I have also dumped bananas, coconut milk, maple syrup, and cocoa powder in a blender and it’s about the best non-Frosty ever and Clemtines are in season now.  Yay!

This whole post can be summed up this way.  Want to quit sweets? 1.  Get rid of them.  2. Don’t buy more.  3. Make your own or eat what nature has provided.  It’s better for you anyway. But you already know this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

