Not Quite paleo

My sister loves to cook and she is a great one.  She got a cookbook for Christmas.  I am aware that this alone is a lame story.  The book was Nom Nom Paleo.  You can check out the website, book, and some recipes here http://nomnompaleo.com. It is a masterpiece of tasty recipes and healthy information and lots and lots of food photos. She let me borrow it and one day I started reading it and I couldn’t put it down.  Yes, I read a cookbook.  But more importantly, as I read I began to question many of my healthy habits.

Could it be that the government was lying to me? The USDA created my plate and I had always thought of myself as a healthy eater because I ate sort of like this

Or maybe they are attempting mind control with massive amounts of sugar in everything? At this point either seems equally likely to me.  Seriously, I challenge you to check the ingredients on the  nutritional labels.  Do you really need sugar and flour in your SALAD dressing?  If you’d like to read more in depth about sugar National Geographic has an entire article on the history of sugar in food at http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2013/08/sugar/cohen-text

What I learned had helped in that book and subsequent others was this: Grains don’t do a whole lot for you and in fact, they may irritate your system.  The same holds true for dairy.  Fruits are sugar and sugar is yummy, but your body doesn’t need the spikes of sugar and insulin that chowing down on a pound of grapes or a candy bar provides. If you need evidence of this go give a kid a candy bar and see what happens.  Society certainly doesn’t need any of that. Sugar is a treat.  Treats aren’t for every day. The current Paleo information also solidified my stance on organic animal products.   I think meat is delicious and I also believe that many of our commercial farming practices are gross and inhumane.  Previously, I had been buying cage free eggs and feeling rather smug that my egg producers had had happy chicken lives.  Then I learned that cage free chickens can still by law have their beaks removed so they don’t peck at one another.  That’s just not right.

Now my husband and I have developed our own take on not quite Paleo that we practice at home.  Here’s what it looks like.  We cook lots of food rather than buying packaged things that are full of processed things we can’t pronounce, we avoid grains for the most part, we eat organic meat, and drink coconut milk, and for dessert we snack on things we make ourselves or dark chocolate and almonds.  We also make a bomb chocolate banana smoothie.  We find recipes online.  Sometimes they are fantastic and some times they are delicious.  Other times they are complete fails. We try to laugh at the fails.

However, none of this means that you won’t see me hoover a bag of chips and dip or enjoy a pint and fried tater tots with friends on the weekend.  I will eat whatever you make for me without complaint or suggestion. I just want to take care of myself so that I can enjoy a long healthy life.

2 thoughts on “Not Quite paleo

  1. An endocrinologist recently told me to mind how much fruit I ate. This came on the heels of me telling her that every morning I grabbed an apple on my way out the door to work. It’s what’s for breakfast.
    I said, “But it’s healthy, right?”
    She said, “But it’s many carbs.”
    Haven’t quite figured out the whole carb thing, yet. Do you count them or go by the percentage? But the thing that flashed through my mind was that ‘minding’ fruit ran contrary to everything I’ve read!

    1. Keep in mind I actually have no formal training in this area….

      I don’t count anything except overall calories and that’s mostly because I’m a curious sort of person. I know that the research now is leaning toward sugars/carbs being something that you should use as treats because they all increase insulin resistance and therefore could lead to pre-dibetic/diabetic conditions. I believe that the sugars that are “better” for you are lower in fructose and that apples are high in fructose. Here is an another article specifically about sugar. I can’t seem to post the link here, but if you google Mark’s Daily Apple The Definitive Guide to Sugar it will pop right up. It’s really dense, but packs lots of good information.

      I also know there are some folks out there who eat really low carb and that is called a ketogenic diet (not to be confused with ketoacidosis which is really bad). The really basic idea behind that is that you can train your body to burn fat instead of sugar when it needs quick fuel.

Leave a Reply

