The hole in the wall: a lesson in preparing

When I met my husband there was a hole in the wall in the kitchen.  A big hole.  The kitchen was small and I decided to “open it up” to the dining room on the other side.  I have a few friends that are carpenters.  We talked it through and I set aside $400 for the project in addition to an entire Saturday.

The first step, I was told, was to make an exploratory hole.  I got a hole saw and made a 2 or 3 inch opening. I couldn’t see a thing.  I waited a bit (or that’s how I remember it) and got out the reciprocating saw and made a hole about 6 feet wide and 4 feet tall.

DSCF0210

I saw plumbing and electrical and realized this was a load bearing wall for the whole second floor.  Oh oh. Minor hiccup. I covered the hole with a few garbage bags and some blue tape. I called a contractor and had a header put in as well as plumbing and electrical rerouted and this project that I budgeted $400 for cost me about 10 times that and took a painful amount of time. Contractors work slower than my brain full of ideas.  That’s a fact of life.

The hole in the wall was awesome!  I had no problem with the (lack of) process. One reason for this is my personality.  I am an enthusiast (according to the Enneagram a type 7).  The short version of this from the website below: Sevens are extroverted, optimistic, versatile, and spontaneous. Playful, high-spirited, and practical, they can also misapply their many talents, becoming over- extended, scattered, and undisciplined. They constantly seek new and exciting experiences, but can become distracted and exhausted by staying on the go. They typically have problems with impatience and impulsiveness.

If you’d like to read a longer version you can look here, but if you know me, it’s just me.  http://www.enneagraminstitute.com/typeseven.asp#.U3wJ23LIbS4

The hole in the wall is always an insightful story. It illustrates my personality traits well and it’s best if you let my husband tell the this story.  He’s about a million times more animated than me! He would have planned all of the surprises right out of the project (which is a good thing). We often joke that that’s him in the giant helmet in the Spaceballs clip below.

FYI we have since removed the entire wall and have a nice open floor plan! But this is what it looked like before the wall came down.

IMG_3256

Leave a Reply

